Restaurant Spotlight: Your Mom’s at Lee/Burbank

My clients and friends know that if ever possible, I like to meet and do business at restaurants.  What can I say – I like trying new and creative menus, taking in unique dining atmospheres and learning about each restaurant’s value proposition.   I figured since I like to critique my meals, I might as well write about them since well, I like to write.  How credible will my opinions be?  Well if you know me it’s simple – I’m an honest guy and I like a good deal when I eat.   Today’s spotlight is a new restaurant that opened only a few days ago in the Winn-Dixie shopping center on Lee @ Burbank: Your Mom’s.

Your Mom's Restaurant & Bar

(For a back-story of the restaurant, read this DIGBR.com article)

Walking into the restaurant, I had no idea what a restaurant called “Your Mom’s” would look like.  Walking in, I was quite impressed with the decor.   The seating and bar area walls were finished with horizontal wood planks for a very modern/rustic feel that seems to be a popular gastro-pub trend, but I would not call this place a “pub” by any traditional means.   The lighting was perfect for lunch time and I think they did a really good job instantly creating a unique atmosphere – like you were at your mom’s for lunch.

My client arrived and we ordered the fried alligator with their Rae-Rae sauce, which I could only describe as one you would liken to Raising Cane’s secret recipe – no one really knows what’s in it for *sure* but it was damn good.  The alligator bites were fried and cooked perfectly with the right amount of tenderness. The winner here was the batter though, which was different than almost all other batters I’ve had at other establishments.  A touch more seasoning and thought was put into this batter, and I would be interested to know if they use it on their other fried items as well because it is that good.

For our lunches, I had the Roast Beef Po-Boy and my client had Your Mom’s House salad.  The pride of Your Mom’s is their preparation of fresh food daily and if you like to critique your meals like I do then you can taste the difference.  The roast beef is cooked between 3 to 6 hours before serving, and I will go on record right now to say it is now my favorite roast beef po-boy in town so far.   The beef was tender as expected, but not messy – the typical soggy bread experience with most roast beef sandwiches will not be an issue here thanks to the great bread and the slight toast they put on it.  The seasoned fries weren’t overly salty (which I prefer but some might want a little more) and both the sandwich and fries portions were generous.

Now to my client’s salad….let’s just say when it arrived at the table our eyes opened wide in disbelief.  Served in a bowl big enough for a family of four to dine on, this was not your typical high-priced, under-portioned salad.  In fact our first comments were literally about how she could get 3 meals out of that bowl.   As for taste and freshness, she actually used some more of the Rae-Rae sauce/dressing and she said it was enjoyable.  They were not stingy on the amount of boiled eggs, tomatoes, chicken and other ingredients making it a very balanced salad, quote a feat for such a large bowl.  Naturally, she ended up with a to-go box chock-full for dinner and tomorrow’s lunch!

Conclusion:  After we finished our meals – and by finished I mean being stuffed and still taking a lot of it home – the first thing that came to my mind was VALUE.   Don’t get me wrong, a lot of restaurants use generous portions as a way to give customers a sense of getting more than what they paid for.  Your Mom’s however is just the second restaurant (the first being in Hammond) and with margins what they are, I was impressed that they are able to prepare exceptional quality AND quantity of food at a great price.  The food is creative and fresh, the atmosphere is hip and trendy, the wait-staff were friendly and the location should do well near campus.

Do yourself a favor, check out their menu here and if you’re near Lee and Burbank, stop into Your Mom’s and tell them I sent you.

David Madaffari

Leave a Reply

