Home Staging – Take Pride in Your Home

This weekend I held an Open House at one of my listings in Old Jefferson Subdivision.  The home is a 30+ year home that the seller has updated as much as possible on a budget.  We recently dropped the price from $160,000 to $150,000 which gave us the reason to hold it open.  It is a cozy, family-friendly and budget-friendly home, but by no means an architectural masterpiece like you’d find with brand new construction.  However, I was extremely impressed with the seller’s initiative to stage the home before I even arrived.

The house smelled terrific – fresh baked cookies, king cake and multiple candles lit in every room.   The furniture was spotless the countertops were cleared of everything unnecessary except for smart accent pieces.  But what floored me was that they even staged the master bathroom jetted tub by filling it with water, laying flower petals in it and lining the back wall with candles.  Talk about ambience!

When I walk through homes with clients I can tell which sellers, even when selling, take pride in their home.  Though not everyone will want to buy the home, they attempt to make anyone feel like a welcome guest.  And THAT is the first step to making prospective buyers feel like they could make it their own home.   To me, a show-ready home says, “Thank you for coming today, we hope you love our house as much as we have loved it.”

I’ll be the first to admit then when I started in real estate, I did not believe in staging a home to the extent that I do now.    It is a subtle piece of the puzzle that I have seen work too many times to ignore.   During the full two hours of the Open House, I took pride in showing my guests around the home because I did not want my seller’s effort to be wasted.   It was probably the most impressed I have felt with a seller’s home for an open house.

So with that, here is a link to some home staging articles from Realtor.com.  If you are looking to sell, these are great things to think about when preparing to show your hoem to the public.  Some of the ideas are pretty clever and effective.

Home Staging Tips

David R. Madaffari, Realtor
Keller Williams Realty – First Choice
Office: 225.744.0044
Cell: 225.772.3283 (DAVE)
37325 Market Place Dr. Ste D
Prairieville, LA 70769
www.DavidMadaffari.com
Each office independently owned and operated

Leave a Reply

